top of page

WHS football team gets OT win on Meet the Trojans Night

Mak Lia scored on a 1-yard run in overtime and Cade Grimmius preserved the win with a tackle at the 1 Wednesday night as the Worthington Trojans beat the visiting St. Peter Saints, 20-14.

It was Meet the Trojans Night at Trojan Field, and the home fans were in celebration mode at the end as WHS won its second game of the year. They now await their seeding in the upcoming sectional tournament.

Jacari Swinea, who had a huge night rushing for the Trojans with 116 yards in the first half alone, scored on a 14-yard TD with 4:21 left in the first quarter as WHS went up 7-0. That was the score up until 37 seconds remained in the opening half, which is when Saints QB Tate Olson connected with Joshua Bosacker on a 21-yard scoring pass play.

St. Peter grabbed a 14-7 lead with 2:03 to go in the third quarter on a 70-yard connection between Olson and Kaeden Guida, but the Trojans got even when another Olson throw was intercepted by Ryan Dorcey and returned 69 yards for another tie score following the point-after kick.

In overtime, both teams started at their opponents’ 10-yard-line, and Worthington punched it from the 1 on third down immediately following a pass from Tucker Brandner to Lia. After a two-point conversion try failed, St. Peter took its turn and was ultimately left a yard shy of tying the game thanks to Grimmius’ tackle. Grimmius also had a key fumble recovery for the Trojans in the second quarter at his own 3-yard following a long St. Peter drive.

In other high school football action Wednesday night, it was:

Hills-Beaver Creek 40, New Ulm Cathedral 18

Mountain Lake Area 32, Renville County West 14

Edgerton 54, Red Rock Central 14

Adrian-Ellsworth 22, Sleepy Eye United 18

Tracy-Milroy-Balaton 40, Russell-Tyler-Ruthton 14

St. James Area 8, Martin County West 6

Springfield 55, Windom Area 15

Jackson County Central 48, Pipestone Area 14

Luverne 33, Redwood Valley 21

Fairmont 21, Waseca 0

Marshall 35, New Ulm 7

In Iowa high school postseason volleyball:

Hinton 3, Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn 0

Central Lyon 3, Akron-Westfield 0

Boyden-Hull 3, Trinity Christian 0

George-Little Rock 3, West Bend Mallard 1

317 views0 comments


bottom of page