top of page

Multiple Big South All-Conference teams announced

Multiple All-Big South Conference teams have been announced.

Three members of the Worthington Trojans dominated the all-conference boys soccer team. Earning spots were junior forward Jonathan Banegas, senior midfielder Santos Orellana and junior defender Maqui Sandoval. Honorable mention selections included senior forward Alan Flores and junior defender Hugo Garcia. Also named to the all-conference team were Jose Luis Ulloa and Lucas Kayser of Marshall; other honorable mention choices were Jared Hernandez, Cesar Guzman Moreno and Alex Melendez Gomez of Marshall and Carson Pomerenke of Fairmont.

In boys cross country Mikele Walu, Fanuel Wolday and Filmon Wolday of Worthington were all chosen for Big Division All-Conference, as were Josh Leibfried, Sam Deutz and Keagan Anderson of Marshall and Gavin Artner of Fairmont. Honorable mention picks included the Trojans’ Ofbeka Morke and the Tigers’ Hudson Dieken, Kohen Holcomb and Landon Marthaler.

Small Division All-Conference boys cross country selections, meanwhile, included Owen Janiszeski and Ryan Fick of Luverne, Caden Strasser of Pipestone Area and Thomas Green of Windom. Evan Paplow of Jackson County Central, Camden Janiszeski and Sage Viessman of Luverne, and Aaden Nauman, Charlie Smith and Jacob Green of Windom were among the honorable mention picks.

In girls tennis, Worthington’s Brooke Nordseth was named to the All-Conference West Division team. Other student-athletes named all-conference include Regan Loft and Taylor DePover of Marshall and Toryn Woelber of Pipestone. Honorable mention choices include Sarah Stegenga, Katharine Kelm and Roselynn Hartshorn of Luverne and Brielle Kulm of Pipestone.

For the girls tennis All-Conference East Division team, Hope Klanderud of Fairmont was among the honorees. Among the honorable mention picks were the Cardinals’ Abigail Peyman, Johanna Petschke and Lilly Laven.

The Girls Cross Country Small Division All-Conference Team includes Jenna DeBates and Ella Schmuck of Luverne and Taylor Post of Pipestone, while honorable mention status was earned by Grace Ingebretsen and Khloe Visker of Luverne and Cora Pauling and Elese Paplow of Jackson County Central. Big Division honorees included Allyson Sample, Katelyn Leibfried, Brooklyn Mauch and Taleigha Bigler of Marshall and Macy Hanson of Fairmont. The Tigers’ Avery Schneekloth, Jersey Leysen and Cameen McFarquhar were honorable mentions.

In girls soccer, Fairmont’s Emm Scheppman and Marshall’s Alexi Schenider were among the all-conference picks. Honorable mention choices included Marshall’s Maddy Van Keulen, Marissa Talamantes and Hannah Gordon and Fairmont’s Kate Busche, Abby Cihoski and Madi Stromberg.

50 views0 comments


bottom of page