top of page

Area sports roundup: Oct. 6, 2022

The Worthington Trojans boys soccer team ended the regular season on a winning note by blanking Fairmont 2-0 at Trojan Field.

The Trojans controlled play for a majority of the first half but missed multiple scoring opportunities and had to settle for a 0-0 tie at the half. Jonathan Banegas broke the deadlock 3:47 into the second half by scoring from the right side, and the Trojan defense did well to fend off a more aggressive Fairmont attack over the match’s later stages. Danny Banegas got the second WHS goal on a great pass from Alan Flores with 2:47 remaining to help the Trojans improve to 14-2 on the season.

WHS, ranked eighth in the latest state Class AA poll, now awaits seeding for the Section 2AA Tournament that begins next week.


The Trojans’ girls soccer team was defeated Thursday at Fairmont, 10-2.

Christy Banegas scored for WHS in the first half as the Trojans trailed 4-1 at intermission. Worthington, though, wasn’t able to hold things together in the second half; it did get a goal from Sara Esquivel.

WHS will play at home Saturday against Albert Lea.


The Worthington Trojans boys cross country team settled for a third-place finish Thursday at the Fairmont I-90 meet. Mankato East placed first with 46 points, followed by Belle Plaine with 52 and the Trojans with 80.

Mikele Walu was third individually for the Trojans with a time of 16:25.9. Fanuel Wolday was right behind in fourth at 16:31.2; Filmon Wolday came in ninth. The next WHS finisher was Ofbeka Morke, who took 24th.

In girls competition, Worthington did not have a team score. Belle Plaine edged Mankato East, 37 points to 38, and Fairmont was third at 105.

The highest Trojans finisher was Kenadie Thiner, who was 44th.


The Luverne Cardinal girls tennis team has captured the Section 3A championship. Luverne will compete at the state tennis tournament Oct. 25-28 in Minneapolis.


In area high school volleyball Thursday night, it was:

Tracy-Milroy-Balaton 3, Canby 0

Pipestone Area 3, Heron Lake-Okabena/Fulda 1

Marshall 3, Windom 0

Jackson County Central 3, Luverne 0

Sioux Center 3, Sheldon 1

Boyden Hull 3, Okoboji 0

West Lyon 3, George-Little Rock 0

65 views0 comments


bottom of page