top of page

Three awards given during FORWARD Worthington event

FORWARD Worthington hosted its annual extravaganza Friday night at Lerma’s Event Center, and three awards were presented during the event.

Jacoba Nagel was the recipient of the Community Service Award, which recognizes individuals who given considerable time to improve the community. Nagel has been a frequent volunteer in helping both youth and older adults, and she also has been a regular volunteer at the Nobles County Historical Society. Additionally, Nagel has been a member of multiple local service clubs and been involved in decorating for the holiday season.

Cooperative Energy Company was the recipient Friday of the Worthington Hospitality Award. Its recognition was based upon a letter FORWARD Worthington had received from a motorist who found themselves stuck Dec. 1 near the bicycle bridge at the corner of Second Avenue and Lake Street. Two Cooperative Energy Co. employees ultimately pulled the vehicle out. Accepting the award Friday was one of those employees, Smitty Eknitphong.

The third award presented Friday went to First State Bank Southwest CEO Greg Raymo, as he was given the Friend of Education Award. Raymo has been a volunteer in District 518 and has also coached basketball. It was also noted that his positive attitude has been an asset to the district.

Outgoing FORWARD Worthington President Reed Fricke and new board president Julie Foote also addressed the event attendees Friday night.

281 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page