top of page

Iowa football team gets district, group assignments

The Iowa High School Athletic Association has announced the district and group assignments for the 2023 & 2024 football seasons.

Districts and Class 5A groups are effective for a two-year cycle. The 2023 football season will be the first with a socioeconomic factor added for classifications. One notable effect was Western Christian moving up from Class 1A to Class 2A’s District 1. With Western Christian coming into the district, Okoboji will depart for District 2.

Class 2A District 1: Central Lyon/George-Little Rock, Cherokee, Sheldon, Unity Christian, West Lyon, Western Christian

Class 2A District 2: Okoboji, Spirit Lake, Estherville Lincoln Central, Garner-Hayfield-Ventura, Forest City, Clarion-Goldfield-Dows

Class 3A District 1: Bishop Heelan Catholic (Sioux City), Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley, Carroll, MOC-Floyd Valley, Sergeant Bluff-Luton, Sioux Center

Class 1A District 1: Hinton, Lawton-Bronson, MVAOCOU, OABCIG, Ridge View, West Sioux

Class A District 1: Akron-Westfield, Alta-Aurelia, Gehlen Catholic, LeMars, Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn, MMCRU, Sibley-Ocheyedan, South O’Brien, Paullina

8-Player District 1: Ar-We-Va (Westside), Boyer Valley (Dunlap), Newell-Fonda, Siouxland Christian, Remsen St. Mary’s, West Harrison, Mondamin, Woodbine

8-Player District 2: Bishop Garrigan (Algona), Graettinger-Terril/Ruthven-Ayrshire, Harris-Lake Park, North Iowa, Buffalo Center, Northwood-Kensett, Rockford, West Bend-Mallard

Schools are working to submit priority lists for non-district scheduling. Complete schedules for 2023 and 2024 will be released in April.

65 views0 comments


bottom of page