top of page

Trojan football players receive district recognition

Five Worthington Trojan football players have earned post-season recognition at the district level.

The Red Sub District is comprised of Marshall, Fairmont, New Ulm, Worthington and St. Peter. Three Trojans were named as All District Players. They were: Jacari Swinea, a junior running back and defensive back; Chase Byrne, a junior tight end and defensive end; and Ryan Dorcey, a junior running back and linebacker.

Two WHS players earned All District Honorable Mention recognition. They were: Tucker Brandner, a senior quarterback and defensive back; and Ryan Lais, a senior fullback and defensive end.

Marshall High School had six athletes selected as All District: senior outside linebacker Dawson Chappuis; senior defensive back Tate Condezo; senior linebacker Cody Brownlee, who was named Linebacker of the Year; senior wide receiver Ashton Blomberg; sophomore defensive end JR Vierstraete, who was named Defensive Lineman of the Year; and junior running back/defensive end Gavin Schaefer, who was named Player of the Year. Tigers coach Terry Bahlmann was named Coach of the Year.

Marshall's Jack Meier and Derek Hisken received All District Honorable Mention honors. The Tigers' Dylan Haney was picked as Defensive Back of the Year and Ethan Hess as Co-Special Teams Player of the Year.

Fairmont, meanwhile, had five athletes chosen as All District: junior running back Elijah Johnson, who was Co-Offensive Back of the Year; junior defensive tackle Hank Artz; senior offensive guard Jake Singleton, who was Offensive Lineman of the Year; senior defensive end and linebacker Gage Borntrager; and senior wide receiver Levi Pooley, who was Wide Receiver of the Year. The Cardinals' Blaze Geiger and Hadan Toomer were both honorable mention choices.

207 views0 comments
bottom of page