top of page

Area Sports Roundup: Nov. 1, 2021

The Big South released multiple All-Conference Teams on Monday.

Individuals named to the Big South West Division All-Conference Girls Tennis Team are: Mia Wenzel, Kristin Rud and Olivia Wieneke, Luverne; Eden Knudson, Regan Loft, Leah Schaefer and Leah Matzner, Marshall; Brielle Kulm and Emma Stahl, Pipestone; Jaelyn Haler and Sailor Mohlenbrock, St. James Area; and Marah Darling, Worthington. Earning All Conference Honorable Mention were Mykela Hanson, Alexis Brekken, Allison Bluedorn and Keyana Haler, St. James Area; TorynWoelber, Pipestone; and KesseyAljets and Ivy Jenson, Worthington.

Named to the Big South Small Division All-Conference Girls Cross Country Team are: Tenley Nelson, Jenna DeBates, Kayla Bloemendaal and Ella Schmuck, Luverne; Kaylee Walkin, Windom Area; Taylor Post, Pipestone; and Olivia Anderson, Jackson County Central. Among the honorable mention choices are: Grace Ingebretsen, Luverne and Naomi Wallace, Pipestone Area.

Among those named to the Big South Big Division All-Conference Girls Cross Country Team are: Laura Thompson and Macy Hanson, Fairmont; and Allyson Sample, Bellamy Sukalski, Miracle Tucker and Katelyn Leibfried, Marshall. Honorable mention selections include: CameenMcFarquhar, Taleigha Bigler, Brooklyn Mauch and Gracelyn Foster, Marshall; and Carys Gudahl, Fairmont.

The Big South Big Division All-Conference Boys Cross Country Team includes: Fanuel Wolday, Mikele Walu, OfbekaMorke, Alec Langerud and Filmon Wolday, Worthington; and Sam Deutz, Marshall. Named as honorable mention were Ethan Bly, Hudson Dieken, Daniel Olin and Keagen Anderson, Marshall; Mason Bobb, Worthington; and Gavin Artner. Fairmont.

Named to the Big South All-Conference Boys Soccer Team are: forward Jonathan Banegas, forward Elmer Guzman, forward Ulises Barrera; midfielder Menkem Mehri, midfielder Edgar Carrillo; defender Isaiah Noble and defender Dalen Gonzalez, all of Worthington; and forward Isaac Correa, midfielder Bryan Esparza, and goalie Preston Hoflock, all of Marshall. Honorable mention honors go to: forward Mir Gossom, midfielder Santos Orellana, defender Omar Fernandez and goalie Osmin Pineda, all of Worthington; forward Prince Lebbi and midfielder Eli Broomfield, Fairmont; and midfielder Mohamed Mohamed and defender Eli Pedersen, Marshall.

Among the Big South All-Conference Girls Soccer Team choices were forward Rayah Quiring, midfielder Sami Lenort, midfielder Mackenzie Householder and defender Carissa Saxton of Fairmont. Honorable mention picks include defender Margarita Pineda of Worthington and goalie Cadee Becker of Fairmont.


In sectional volleyball playoff action Monday, it was:

Luverne 3, Pipestone Area 2 (Game scores were 18-25. 25-19, 18-25. 25-21, 15-12)

Jackson County Central 3, Windom 0 (Game scores were 25-16, 15-13, 25-9)

Heron Lake-Okabena-Fulda 3, Red Rock Central 1 (Game scores were 25-16, 24-26, 25-13, 25-19)

Tracy-Milroy-Balaton 3, Russell-Tyler-Ruthton 1 (Game scores were 21-25, 25-16, 25-20, 25-22)

Luverne will play JCC Thursday night in a Section 3AA semifinal match in Worthington. Heron Lake-Okabena-Fulda will meet Tracy-Milroy-Balaton in a Section 3A South match on Thursday night at Southwest Minnesota State University in Marshall.

16 views0 comments


bottom of page