top of page

Sports Roundup: May 16, 2022

The Worthington Trojans softball team lost a pair Monday at St. Peter, dropping 7-2 and 12-10 decisions.

In the opener, Haley Grimmius was 2-for-3 at the plate with two solo runs, and Olivia Hayenga and Hannah McNab had the other two hits. Grimmius allowed four earned runs over six innings; St. Peter took a 5-0 first-inning lead thanks in part to three Trojan errors.

In game two, WHS led 10-6 going into the sixth by St. Peter again scored five runs with the Trojans committing three errors. Grimmius hit another solo home run in the nightcap, while Hayenga went 2-for-3 with two runs scored, an RBI and a stolen base. McNab was 2-for-4 with two runs scored and an RBI, and Bailey Ponto had two hits while knocking in a pair of runs.

The Trojans committed a total of 10 errors in the two games and are now 10-7 on the season. They play single games today against Jordan and New Prague in Jordan.


The WHS boys golf team totaled 390 strokes and finished 11th of 12 teams at Monday’s Big South Conference Tourney at Dakota Ridge. St. Peter won with 324.

Shooting scoring rounds for the Trojans were Andrew Dorcey with 94, Spenser Braaksma with 97, Andrew Mulder with 99 and Tyler Jaycox with 100. Fairmont’s Brock Lutterman was medalist with a 76.

The WHS girls team, for its part, had a score of 417 and placed sixth of 10 teams in the Big South tourney. Redwood Valley won with 354.

Scoring for Worthington were Lilly Mahlberg with 91, Ellie Weg with 103, Kendall Nixon with 110 and Tarren Spartz with 113. Mahlberg earned sixth place among Big South Conference Girls Golf All-Conference honorees.


The George Little Rock boys golf team, competing in the district golf tournament Monday at Spring Valley Golf Course in Livermore, Iowa for the first time since 2005, placed eighth with a team score of 386. Lake Mills won with 331.


Here are the Big South All-Conference boys and girls golf teams:


Blue Earth Area: Ashton Lloyd

Fairmont: Matthew Cone, Jacob Harris, Brock Lutterman, Alexander Moeller

Jackson County Central: Sam Brinkman

Luverne: Brady Bork, Henry Hartquist

Marshall: Luke Ehlers, Evan Franson, Jayden Mathei, Sam Schwarz

Pipestone: Braxton Thompson

Redwood Valley: Mason Frank

St. Peter: Kaiden Brovold, Blake Magelee, Anthony Nicolai, Marshall Nicolai

Waseca: Cody Vagts


Blue Earth Area: Payten Gudahl, Kylie Rosenau, Katelyn Storbeck

Fairmont: Brynn Gustafson, Anika Haugen, Maggy Totzke, Solveig Senf

Marshall: Brooklyn Gosselin, Jaryn Hilgemann, Taylor Miller

Redwood Valley: Jorga Brown, Julian Brown, , Mila Jenniges

St. Peter: Adrianna Bixby, Audra Bixby, Kate Salzwedel

Windom: Ada Lund

Worthington: Lilly Mahlberg

57 views0 comments


bottom of page