top of page

S-O's Brouwer earns state all-tournament team honors

Top seeded Dike-New Hartford, which edged fourth-seeded Sibley-Ocheyedan 61-56 Friday morning to advance to the Iowa State Class 2A Basketball Tournament finals, captured its third straight state title Saturday by defeating No. 2 Central Lyon 64-49 in Des Moines.

For the third year in a row, Dike-New Hartford’s Payton Petersen was named captain of the Class 2A All-Tournament Team. Also named to the team were Jadyn Petersen of Dike-New Hartford, Desta Hoogendoorn and Addison Klosterbuer of Central Lyon, Akaysa Duitcher of Pocahontas Area and Madison Brouwer of Sibley-Ocheyedan. Brouwer had 28 points and 10 rebounds in the Generals’ first-round victory over Regina Catholic and had 10 points, 11 rebounds and eight blocked shots against Dike-New Hartford.

Also at Iowa’s state girls hoops tourney, Sioux Center defeated Benton Community 62-47 on Friday as the sixth-seeded Warriors won the Class 3A title.


The Siouxland Conference All-Conference basketball teams have been announced.

Among girls, members of the first team include Addison Klosterbuer and Desta Hoogendoorn of Central Lyon, Madison Brouwer of Sibley-Ocheyedan and Claire Johnson of Sheldon. Second-team members include Marissa Ackerman and Bria Wasmund of Sibley-Ocheyedan, Afton Schlumbohm of Central Lyon and Ava Packebush of Okoboji. Lindsay Haken of George-Little Rock is a member of the third team, and Carly Carstens of Okoboji and Zoe Ackerman of Sibley-Ocheyedan are honorable mentions.

Among boys, Zach Lutmer, Andrew Austin and Reece Vander Zee of Central Lyon are first-teamers. Drew Denekas of George-Little Rock is a second-teamer and Blake Radke of Sheldon a third-teamer. Picked as honorable mention selections were Caleb Simington of Okoboji and Sam Chambers of Sibley-Ocheyedan.


In area girls basketball Saturday:

Marshall 39, Jordan 38

In boys basketball Saturday:

Russell-Tyler-Ruthton 73, Heron Lake-Okabena/Fulda 46

Murray County Central 57, Hills-Beaver Creek 39

Southwest Minnesota Christian 90, Tracy-Milroy-Balaton 60

Westbrook-Walnut Grove 48, Red Rock Central 33

Montevideo 83, Windom 73

Redwood Valley 68, Luverne 61

Pipestone Area 68, Fairmont 53

Jackson County Central 62, Fairmont 58

In girls basketball Friday:

Southwest Minnesota Christian 66, Edgerton 50

56 views0 comments


bottom of page