top of page

Rick von Holdt elected as Worthington's mayor; Janssen and Kolpin win new city council terms

The city of Worthington elected a new mayor Tuesday night while also returning two incumbent Worthington City Council members to office.

In the three-race to replace Mayor Mike Kuhle, who chose not to seek re-election, it was Rick von Holdt – known to many as the longtime former chief of the Worthington Fire Department – picking up the win by garnering 1,373 votes, or 52.17% of the votes cast. Chad Cummings received 1,035 votes, or 39.3%, and Rod Sankey had 215 votes, or 8.7%.

In the contest for a Ward 1 City Council position, it was Larry Janssen elected to another four-year term. He received 508 votes, or 57%, compared to 380 (or 43%) for Cristina Adame.

In the three-person Ward 2 City Council race, it was incumbent Alaina Kolpin picking up 754 votes, or 46%, to defeat America Voss and Nathalie Tshioko Nkashama, Voss had 683 votes, or 41.7%, and Nkashama had 194 votes, or 11.8%.

All Nobles County races were unopposed. In the four-person District 518 Board of Education contest, Erin Schutte was the leading vote-getter as she was elected along with incumbents Adam Blume and Lori Dudley. Schutte had 2,607 votes, Blume 2,470 and Dudley 2,297. LaDean "Butch" Fletcher had 1,327 votes.

1,017 views0 comments


bottom of page