top of page

Fogelman, Schomacker elected to Minnesota House

The Minnesota House of Representatives seat long held by Rod Hamilton will be filled by another Republican.

In a race in the reconfigured District 21B, Marj Fogelman of Fulda was able to defeat Brewster DLF candidate Michael Heidelberger and win a two-year term in St. Paul. With 82 of 83 precincts reporting early this morning, Fogelman had 9,416 votes – or 66.5% -- compared to Heidelberger’s 4,721 votes – or 33.3%.

In District 21A, meanwhile, Republican Joe Schomacker of Luverne was re-elected and will now serve a seventh term at the Capitol. Schomacker got 13,536 votes, or 74.3%, in easily turning back Luverne Mayor Pat Baustian. The Democrat had 4,671 votes, or 25.6%.

District 21 Sen. Bill Weber, a Republican from Luverne, was also re-elected Tuesday night. Weber had no opposition.

In the U.S. House race between Republican Brad Finstad and Jeff Ettinger, it was Finstad with 53.9% of the vote with 744 of 749 precincts reporting early Wednesday. Finstad was first elected in a special August election to fill the remainder of Jim Hagedorn’s term after his death. Finstad will now serve a two-year term.

617 views0 comments


bottom of page