top of page

12:10 a.m. -- Election Update

This will likely be the last update of the evening,

There are now 10 of 10 precincts in for Worthington, and Rick von Holdt has been elected mayor with 1,373 votes in the three-way race for the office Chad Cummings has 1,035 and Rod Sankey 215. In the race for the Ward 1 City Council seat, incumbent Larry Janssen had 508 votes compared to 380 for Cristina Adame. For Ward 2 Council, all five precincts are in, and incumbent Alaina Kulpin garnered 754 votes compared to America Voss with 683 votes and Nathalie Tshioko Nkashama with 194.

In the four-way race for the three available seats on the Worthington ISD 518 Board of Education, Erin Schutte has 2,607 votes, Adam Blume 2,470, Lori Dudley 2,297 and "Butch" Fletcher 1,327.

Minnesota statewide races include governor, attorney general, secretary of state and state auditor. With 81.5% of votes counted (3,343 of 4,103 precincts), incumbent Minnesota DFL Gov. Tim Walz is ahead of Republican challenger Scott Jensen by a 53% to 44% margin. In the other races, DFLers are also in front. DFLer Keith Ellison has 51.4% of the vote in the matchup for attorney general against GOP candidate Jim Schultz. The current secretary of state, Democrat Steve Simon, has 56% of the vote and leads Republican Kim Crockett. State Auditor Juile Blaha of the DFL is being challenged by Republican Ryan Wilson and two others; she leads with 48.4% of the vote while Wilson has 46.2%.

In southwest Minnesota, voters also made choices for offices that include Minnesota House representatives in District 21A and District 21B and the District 1 U.S. House of Representatives seat.

In District 21B, it's Republican Marj Fogelman against Democrat Michael Heidelberger, and with 74 of 83 precincts in, it's Fogelman with 66.7%. In District 21A, all 127 precincts are in, and incumbent GOP Rep. Joe Schomacker defeated DFLer Pat Baustian with 74.3% of the vote.

In the U.S. House race between Republican Brad Finstad and Jeff Ettinger, it's Finstad with 55% of the vote with 585 of 749 precincts reporting.

Up for election in Iowa were one of the state's two seats in the U.S. Senate and the state's District 4 seat in the U.S. House. State In the U.S. Senate race, longtime incumbent Republican Charles Grassley defeated Michael Franken. For the House seat, Republican Randy Feenstra topped challenger Ryan Melton by a more than 2-1 margin. Gov. Kim Reynolds also easily captured a new four-year term.

Many other election contests, of course, are ongoing in the several other communities that are part of our coverage area.

419 views0 comments


bottom of page