top of page

South Central District Football Awards announced

Four Worthington Trojans football players have been named to the 2022 South Central District All-District Football Team.

Worthington athletes included on the squad are cornerback/quarterback Abagotte Opiew, strong safety/wide receiver Marenono Opiew, linebacker/fullback Nasim Zeidi; and offensive lineman/defensive lineman Kasey Gerhard.

Multiple athletes from Marshall also made the team. They are: senior running back/outside linebacker Chidi Nwakama; senior linebacker/tight end Andrew Wallen; senior defensive back/running back Jett Wing; senior quarterback/free safety Tyler Maeyaert; and junior outside linebacker/Dawson Chappuis.

On the team for Pipestone Area are: senior quarterback/safety Kellen Johnson; senior offensive lineman/defensive lineman Caden Miller; senior fullback/linebacker Rogen Smidt; junior wide receiver/defensive back Rysley Borman; and senior offensive lineman/defensive lineman Jayden Hoss.

Representing Jackson County Central are: senior running back Gabe Wolf, senior offensive lineman/linebacker Matt Haley, freshman quarterback/defensive back Roman Voss, senior offensive lineman/defensive lineman Cameron Scholten, senior tight end/linebacker Caleb Vancura and senior wide receiver/defensive back Travis Rogotzke.

Windom players to make the team were sophomore quarterback Quintin Tietz and senior running back/defensive lineman Abe McKibbin. Four Luverne players were included: senior wide receiver/cornerback Gannon Ahrendt; senior wide receiver/safety Tyson Cowell; junior quarterback/linebacker Conner Connell; and sophomore offensive lineman/linebacker Eli Woodley.

Five individuals from Fairmont were also listed: David Maakestad, Aiden Welcome. Hank Artz. Levi Pooley and Gavin Junkermeier.

Honorable mention selections to the team include Logan Barber and Ryan Lais of Worthington, JR Vierstraete and Omar Abdi of Marshall, Braeden Bauman and Jackson Melcher of Pipestone Area, Bryson Powers and Wyatt Wenzel of JCC, Bryan Macario Rios and Kevin Bleess of Windom, Landen Meyerdirk and David Barrientos of Fairmont and Zach DeBoer and Kaleb Hein of Luverne.

Among the South Central District Football Award winners were: Terry Bahlmann, Marshall, coach of the year; Tom Schuller, JCC, coach of the year; Chidi Nwakama, Marshall, player of the year; Kellen Johnson, Pipestone Area, player of the year; Gabe Wolf, JCC, offensive back of the year; Cameron Scholten, JCC, and Caden Miller, Pipestone Area, co-defensive linemen of the year; Hank Artz, Fairmont, defensive lineman of the year; Matt Haley, JCC, co-offensive linemen of the year; Rysley Borman, Pipestone Area, wide receiver of the year; Gannon Ahrendt, Luverne, wide receiver of the year; Caleb Vancura, JCC, and Rogen Smidt, Pipestone Area, co-linebackers of the year; Nasim Zeidi, Worthington, co-linebacker of the year; Marenono Opiew, Worthington, co-defensive back of the year; Alvaro Gonzalez Garcia, JCC, and Nohel Vivanco, Pipestone Area, co-special teams player of the year; and Laden Meyerdick, Fairmont, co-special teams player of the year.

310 views0 comments


bottom of page