top of page

Iowa conducts primary elections; MN filing period ends

It was primary day across Iowa on Tuesday, and regional counties had a handful of contested races.

In Osceola County, in the County Board of Supervisors District 5 race, Jeff Loring earned 106 votes and defeated incumbent Edward Jones, who had 63.

There were three contested races for county board seats in O'Brien County. In District 1, Jim Thomas had 859 votes compared to incumbent Timothy Overmire's 592. In District 2, Barbara Rohwer earned 1,143 votes while incumbent John Steensma had 373. Incumbent Nancy McDowell came out on top in District 3; she had 996 votes compared to 501 for Shanelle Matus.

In Dickinson County, District 3 county board member Jeff Thee was defeated by Kevin Dullard 167-94. In Lyon County, incumbent sheriff Stewart Vander Stoep was defeated by Brian Hilt 1,381-1,258.

All vote totals are unofficial. Each of the candidates who won Tuesday night are to run unopposed in November.


The filing period for county offices across Minnesota ended Tuesday, and there will be one contested race for the Nobles County Board of Commissioners.

In District 3, incumbent Bob Paplow will have a challenger, Jean Johnson. District 1 incumbent Justin Ahlers and District 4 incumbent Bob Demuth Jr., meanwhile, have no formal opposition this coming November,

69 views0 comments


bottom of page